A list of twelve coaches has been selected for FIFA coach of the year, and there are three Italian coaches on the shortlist.

  1. Massimiliano Allegri – Juventus: Scudetto and Coppa Italia
  2. Carlo Ancelotti – Bayern Munich: German Bundesliga and Super Cup Champion
  3. Antonio Conte – Chelsea: Premier League Champion

According to FIFA, a panel of FIFA Legends have shortlisted 12 head coaches for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2017 award.

The panel is composed of the following legends:

  • Cafú (BRA)
  • Landon Donovan (USA)
  • Enzo Francescoli (URU)
  • Alex Frei (SUI)
  • Hidetoshi Nakata (JPN)
  • Diego Maradona (ARG)
  • Jay Jay Okocha (NGA)
  • Carles Puyol (ESP)
  • Carlos Valderrama (COL)
  • Edwin van der Sar (NED)
  • Ivan Vicelich (NZL)

The candidates, in alphabetical order, are:
* Massimiliano Allegri (ITA – Juventus)
* Carlo Ancelotti (ITA – FC Bayern Munich)
* Antonio Conte (ITA – Chelsea)
* Luis Enrique (ESP – FC Barcelona)
* Pep Guardiola (ESP – Manchester City)
* Leonardo Jardim (POR – AS Monaco)
* Joachim Low (GER – German national team)
* Jose Mourinho (POR – Manchester United)
* Mauricio Pochettino (ARG – Tottenham Hotspur)
* Diego Simeone (ARG – Atlético Madrid)
* Tite (BRA – Brazilian national team)
* Zinedine Zidane (FRA – Real Madrid).

The winner of this award will be chosen by a process involving the four main stakeholders involved in football: national team coaches, captains, selected media and the fans.

Fan voting online on begins on Monday, August 21st.

Voting closes on September 7th with the men’s awards taking the period 20 November 2016 to 2 July 2017 inclusive into account. The final lists of three nominees for the men’s and women’s player and coach categories – as well as for the FIFA Puskás Award, the FIFA Fan Award and the brand new The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award – will be announced in mid-September.

Footballing royalty will descend on London, the birthplace of the modern game, for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ ceremony on Monday 23 October, where all awards will be handed out to the winners.